“Breast Cancer Survivor Support and Education on Twitter,” By Targeted Oncology.

#BCSM – breast cancer social media – is a dynamic online network and community dedicated exclusively to women and men affected by breast cancer. The tweetchat takes place every Monday evening at 9 pm ET/8 pm Central/6 pm Pacific in real time. Dr. Deanna Attai, a co-moderator for #BCSM discusses this unique support and education medium for breast cancer survivors at the 2014 Breast Cancer Symposium. Dr. Attai points out that the focus of #BCSM chats is on patients, so these chats can provide learning opportunities for physicians and others in health care to increase their understanding of patients’ experiences and concerns. As such, the majority of people involved in #BCSM chats are patients, though surgeons, medical oncologists, radiologists, caregivers, nurses, genetic counselors, and others also participate.

Watch Video interview with Deanna J. Attai, MD, assistant clinical professor, Department of Surgery, UCLA.

Related:

Be Sociable, Share!

Articles & Posts